Texas State Faces: Carolyn McCall

After 38 years, McCall embodies Texas State ethos with pride

Carolyn McCall

Carolyn McCall

By Andrew Osegi

Texas State University is known for being a huge school with a small feel. The warm, welcoming atmosphere of the campus is cultivated by its faculty and staff, people who have dedicated their careers to serving Texas State students — people like Carolyn McCall.

“She is one of the most wonderful supervisors I have ever had the pleasure of working with,” said DeLara Julian, an administrative assistant who worked with McCall in the Office of Educator Preparation. “Her professionalism, courtesy and consideration for everyone with whom she comes in contact are legendary in the College of Education.”

After 38 years at the university, McCall retired in May from her position as a member of the College of Education faculty and director of the Office of Educator Preparation, where she advised students on track to become teachers. Looking back, she shares her reflections on the challenges and rewards of her four decades of dedication to the Texas State community.

AO: When did you start working at Texas State? What did you do here?

CM: My first day of work was June 1, 1974. I came to work as a clinic supervisor in Communication Disorders, which was then part of the College of Education. Communication Disorders soon merged with the College of Health Professions, but I stayed with the College of Education to help teach aspiring teachers how to communicate with students more effectively. Before I retired, I was the director of the Office of Educator Preparation. I advised potential student teachers seeking master’s degrees in elementary education and their teacher certification.

AO: What are some of your fondest memories here at Texas State?

CM: I was an undergrad from 1968 to 1971 and was drum major for the Bobcat Marching Band from ’69 to ’71. The best thing about working at Texas State has been the opportunity to accomplish so much as an advisor, director and teacher. The experience has been enriching, to say the least, and has engendered many relationships that I now deeply cherish.

AO: What were some of the challenges you faced during your time at Texas State?

CM: This university has been subject to so many changes since I’ve worked here. From the name changes to the integration of computer systems for school management and enrollment, my fellow faculty and I had to adjust to such changes promptly. I can’t say there was anything too challenging for me to undertake, but the adjustments my department had to make throughout the years were bumps in the road to which we had to adapt.

AO: What will you miss the most about Texas State now that you are retired?

CM: My job was to establish relationships with students and to ensure their success, so I will definitely miss my students — I care for them. However, I will miss my colleagues most of all. Their support made my job fun and exciting.

AO: What plans do you have for retirement?

CM: I hope to visit and help take care of my two-year-old granddaughter Rylie. Then, once my husband retires, we hope to get some traveling done. In the meantime, spending time with family is what I intend to do most. I feel very fortunate to be associated with Texas State. I got to see the growth of the university first-hand and I am proud to be a part of something so dynamic.

One response to “Texas State Faces: Carolyn McCall

  1. I was one of Mrs. McCall’s students from 1994-1997. She is a phenomenal person and played a large role in my career as an educator. She is the epitome of what I strive to be as a person and as an educator. Thank you Andrew, for recognizing her in this article.

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

