Texas State Voices: Lauren Roig

London 2012: From internship to Olympics, experience is amazing

Lauren Roig at U.S. Embassy in London

Texas State grad student Lauren Roig secured an internship at the U.S. Embassy in London.

By Lauren Roig ’11, ’13

Hello from London to my fellow Bobcats!

I am a graduate student in International Studies currently living in London. I’m finishing an internship at the United States Embassy.

I got my internship through the Department of Commerce and have been working with the U.S. Commercial Service, which helps U.S. businesses meet their export goals around the world. My responsibilities as a Commercial Assistant have been to respond to inquiries from U.S. businesses looking to enter the international market, help plan trade shows and perform market research for the different industries we serve.

Lauren Roig in front of Old Trafford

Roig in front of Old Trafford in Manchester

It’s been a really exciting summer here in London with the Queen’s Jubilee and the 2012 Olympic preparations taking place throughout the city. The most exciting part of my time in London was scoring tickets to see the Olympic men’s football tournament. It was my second time to visit Old Trafford, the stadium home of the Manchester United football team, and I was so excited to see my first-ever Olympic event!

The first game I attended was Uruguay vs. United Arab Emirates with Uruguay pulling off a 2-1 win. The next game was the big one: Team Great Britain vs. Senegal. After an exciting goal by Team GB, I thought a win was in the bag, but Senegal pulled off a goal towards the end. Despite the tie, the game was so much fun! The atmosphere at the football game was amazing. From now on, however, I am cheering on Team USA all the way to the gold medal podium! I can’t wait to see how our athletes do!

Lauren Roig and Mackenzie Cox

Roig and fellow Texas State student Mackenzie Cox attended an Olympic football match.

The most thrilling part of attending an Olympic event has to be the millions of people coming together from all around the world to celebrate a better and peaceful world through sports. I can’t quite explain the emotions I felt while sitting in Old Trafford, but it was a feeling I definitely won’t forget. I also will have the opportunity to attend men’s and women’s Olympic beach volleyball matches, so hopefully I will be able to catch Team USA.

I have learned so much through this experience, but most of all I’ve learned to live each day as it comes — time goes so fast! Although I am excited to return to Texas after almost five months, I am very sad to leave my friends and my favorite city. See you soon, Bobcats!

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

