Study Tips: Academic Checklist

Start the semester right by checking off the academic essentials

By Texas State SLAC

Woman studying in library

Make a contract with yourself to establish good study habits and stay ahead of the curve this semester.

Welcome back, Bobcats!

This is the first full week of school and a good time to set the tone for what lies ahead in this semester. Establishing good study habits and routines from the start will help you maintain your grades and manage your workload well.

You want to write a plan outlining the essential parts of your study routine. Consider the following checklist to help you get started:

  • I have purchased books and other materials for all my classes.
  • I have attended all classes for the first time and collected a syllabus for each one.
  • I have purchased or acquired a daily planner and wall calendar where I will post all events, assignments, papers’ due dates, exams/quizzes, trips and other extracurricular activities.
  • I have allocated time for reading each day during prime hours (8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday through Friday).
  • I have made a study schedule. If I do not have one, I will get someone to help me make one. A good place to start looking for help is at SLAC.
  • I have made arrangements with my employer to give me the same work schedule each week if at all possible.  This will allow me to set my study hours—and not be worried about having to go to work at unexpected times and days.
  • I have shared my study schedule with my roommate so that we can coordinate activities around the time we have set aside for studying.
  • I have promised myself that I will read to get ahead when I don’t have homework; moreover, I promise myself that I will never go to class having NOT read the assigned reading.
  • I will attend all labs that my courses require.
  • I have promised to give myself some time to relax and have fun—and to take care of my physical and mental health! The Student Health Center and Counseling Center are on campus to assist me.
  • I will post this contract with myself where I can see it everyday!

If you’d like to use the above checklist, download the Academic Checklist PDF.

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

