Bobcat Faces: Jennifer Muñoz

Business honors student
keeps her focus on the future

Jennifer Muñoz


Like many successful people, Jennifer Muñoz has found inspiration in a quote from Stephen Covey’s The Seven Habits of Highly Successful People:

“I can live out of my imagination instead of my memory. I can tie myself to my limitless potential instead of my limiting past.”

Muñoz, a marketing major from San Marcos, has more than put Covey’s quote into practice. She has lived it, as she is about to become the first member of her family to graduate from a four-year university.

“The sky is the limit, and I’m reaching for it,” she says.

Muñoz, a dean’s list scholar in the McCoy College of Business Administration, went away to school after graduating from San Marcos High School. But she came back her junior year and earn her bachelor’s from Texas State in May.

“It’s like the old saying goes, ‘You don’t know what you have until it’s gone,’” she says. “Texas State is a beautiful campus in a wonderful city. It’s a wonderful match for my personality, and I love it.”

Her goal is to own her own business, and she figured that since marketing was such a vital part of any enterprise, it was a logical choice for a major. She hasn’t regretted it, thanks to people like Vicki West, a senior lecturer in the Department of Marketing and her instructor for Professional Selling.

“I took her class at 8 a.m., and trust me, I was never falling asleep,” Muñoz says. “She is a teacher who you know wants to be there. If you take her class, I can guarantee you that you will not feel like you wasted your time — everything she teaches is for a reason.”

Muñoz broadened her horizons by joining the campus chapters of the American Marketing Association and the Hispanic Business Student Association. She is a member of Alpha Mu Alpha, the national marketing honor society, and Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society for business students, and also took part in the Bobcat Build program.

“Texas State is just an amazing place to be,” she says. “I’m proud to be a Bobcat.”

McCoy College of Business Administration
Department of Marketing

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

