Bobcat Faces: Amanda Venable

Communications studies major finds
extracurriculars important to career path

Amanda Venable

“Deciding to attend Texas State was the best decision I could have made,” says communications studies senior Amanda Venable. “When looking at universities, Texas State seemed like the right fit for me. The campus is beautiful, the people are welcoming and the opportunities are endless. Plus, since I’m from Austin, it’s close enough that I can go home for a day, but far enough that I don’t have to.”

Like many freshmen, she was unsure of her career path, but with guidance from faculty and her experience writing for The University Star, she found it. After graduate school, she wants to “take the tools I’ve learned while working as a journalist and editor at The University Star and apply them to a career in political communications, public affairs or crisis management.”

Her extracurricular education is as important as what she’s learned in the classroom.

“Working at the newspaper is where I’ve gained most of my knowledge and practical skills about writing, researching and management,” she explains. “Being editor-in-chief of The University Star might be a hard gig, but it is extremely rewarding. I work with a great group of students who dedicate themselves to ensuring we put out a quality publication. I also have the benefit of always knowing what’s new on campus.

“The tools I’ve gained while working at the paper have aided in getting me internships, the last of which was in Washington, D.C., where I spent the past summer working at a political think-tank.”

Texas State also provided her with the opportunity to study abroad in Spain for a summer.

“I had never been to Europe,” she says, “and it turned out to be the biggest adventure of my life.”

Venable also has been a recipient of many scholarships and awards, including the third-place award for in-depth reporting and best breaking news award from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association in 2008 and 2009, respectively. She also won second-place for breaking news from the Society of Professional Journalism.

“Texas State is a place where you can come into your own,” Venable says. “You don’t have to come here with your life mapped out for you. You’ll find your own niche — an organization, major, job — that makes you feel a part of something bigger than yourself. I did.”

College of Fine Arts and Communication
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
University Star

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

