Bobcat Faces: Vernon Wright

An experience at Texas State
is an experience for a lifetime

Vernon Wright


Like many freshmen, Vernon Wright thought he had his career plans figured out when he arrived at Texas State.

“I’ve always been an optimist and loved to use my imagination, so that’s why I chose marketing,” he explains. “But half-way through my sophomore year I found out that my interests changed. College can do that to people. “

Even though he changed his major from marketing to electronic media, he says, “I still love the McCoy School of Business Administration because of its amazing facility and top-of-the-line professors who really challenge you. That’s why I decided to still minor in business.”

Wright’s love for television and news broadcasting led him to his new major. And he knew he had made the right decision after taking a class with Professor Tom Grimes.

“His impact on me as a student will stay with me forever,” says Wright. “His passion was so strong for what he was teaching. There was never a dull moment in his class. I learned so much, and he was the sole reassurance I needed in order to stick with this major.”

Wright not only found what career he wants to pursue, but also his purpose on campus.

“College has a lot more to offer than just classes,” he says. “The experience that I’ve gotten from being here goes way beyond anything that I could ever learn in a classroom. Relationships, how to work with people and time management are all things that I have learned through involvement with other students and organizations.”

Wright is currently the internal vice president of Focused, a male business and leadership organization, and president of Black Men United. He also is a member of The Impact and Ebony Players, an African American actors organization.

“Everyone [at Texas State] is very helpful and here to be productive, but still have fun,” says Wright. “An experience at Texas State is an experience for a lifetime.”

Fine Arts and Communication

School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

