Texas State Faces: Faculty Honors

Texas State names recipients
of Presidential Awards for 2010

This is a e-mail distributed from university President Denise M. Trauth to the Texas State community Friday:

Dear Colleagues:

It is my pleasure to announce the 2010 honorees for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching, Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities, Excellence in Service, and the Presidential Seminar Award. These awards are given annually to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding performance in teaching, outstanding performance in scholarship, and outstanding performance in service.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching
Professor/Associate Professor rank
Ms. Kathleen C. Peirce, Department of English
Assistant Professor/Instructor/Lecturer rank
Dr. Gwendolyn Hustvedt, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences

Ms. Peirce and Dr. Hustvedt have shown an outstanding ability to make teaching and learning an exciting experience.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities
Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Michael Forstner, Department of Biology
Assistant Professor/Instructor/Lecturer rank
Dr. Soon Jae Lee, Department of Engineering Technology

Dr. Forstner and Dr. Lee have made significant contributions to their disciplines and to the intellectual life of the university.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Service
Professor/Associate Professor rank
Dr. Linda Homeyer, Department of Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education, and School Psychology
Assistant Professor/Instructor/Lecturer rank
Mr. David S. Nolan, School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Dr. Homeyer and Mr. Nolan are being recognized for their superior service to Texas State, their profession, and the community.

Presidential Seminar Award
Dr. James LeSage, Department of Finance and Economics

Dr. LeSage is being recognized for his superlative research, scholarship, and current contributions to his discipline.

A selection committee composed of faculty and students reviews nominees for each award. These selection committees worked very hard, and I would like to extend my thanks to the committee members. The awards will be formally presented at the University Convocation and Annual General Faculty meeting on Tuesday, August 24, 2010, at 9 a.m. in Strahan Coliseum.

I know all of you will join me in extending congratulations to our 2010 honorees.


Denise M. Trauth

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s