Alumni: Grupo Fantasma Wins Grammy

Texas State grads win first Grammy with Grupo Fantasma

Gilbert Elorreaga, left, with band mates Jose Galeano and Mark "Speedy" Gonzales

By Billi London-Gray

LOS ANGELES—The Austin-based Latin funk orchestra Grupo Fantasma won its first Grammy yesterday. Texas State University alumni Josh Levy, Kino Esparza, Matthew “Sweet Lou” Holmes and Gilbert Elorreaga are  full-time members of the 10-piece ensemble.

Grupo’s 2010 album, El Existential, took home the prize for Best Latin Rock, Alternative or Urban Album of the Year. Their 2008 release, Sonidos Gold, was nominated for the same award.

Elorreaga, who plays trumpet for the band, attended the pre-telecast awards ceremony in Los Angeles on Sunday. He was accompanied by timbales player Jose Galeano and and trombonist Mark “Speedy” Gonzales.

“Thank you for all the support,” read a statement on Grupo’s website after the award was announced. “It’s been a wild ride.”

Texas State grad Max Garza was also in Los Angeles for the awards. Garza is a member of the Austin-based Chicano band Tortilla Factory, whose 2010 album Cookin was nominated for Tejano Album of the Year. Tortilla Factory’s 2009 release, All That Jazz, was also nominated for a Grammy.

Read more about Texas State alumni in Grupo Fantasma on the Texas State Blog.

One response to “Alumni: Grupo Fantasma Wins Grammy

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Alumni: Grupo Fantasma Wins Grammy | The Texas State University-San Marcos Blog --

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s