Spotlight: 2011 Distinguished Professors

President Trauth Announces
2011 Distinguished Professors

Dr. Frank de la Teja

Denise Trauth, president of Texas State University, announced the recipients of the 2011 University Distinguished Professor award on July 12.

Dr. Frank de la Teja, a professor in the Department of History, and Dr. Robert Gorman, a professor in the Department of Political Science, were selected for the award.

The award — first given in 2010 to Dr. David Butler, Department of Geography, and Dr. Sharon Ugalde, Department of Modern Languages — honors individuals whose performance in teaching, research and service has been exemplary and recognized at the state, national and international levels. Faculty members selected for the award will retain the title of “University Distinguished Professor” for the duration of their service at Texas State. The award includes a one-time $3,000 cash prize, a commemorative medallion and recognition at the fall convocation.

Dr. Robert Gorman

“The honorees were chosen from among members of an exceptional faculty,” Trauth says, “and I commend them for their excellence as faculty members and for their contributions to Texas State.”

Trauth says she has nominated both faculty members for consideration of The Texas State University System Board of Regents “Regents’ Professor” award, which annually recognizes top faculty members among the system’s eight member-institutions.

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s