Alumni: Britney Munguia

Munguia connects Facebook, Twitter and more to a social-savvy career

By Catherine Harper

Munguia graduated in May 2011 with a degree in advertising.

Texas State University grad Britney Munguia says she loves “everything” about social media. From Twitter to Facebook to LinkedIn and beyond, Munguia has made social media her career.

Having graduated from Texas State in May 2011 with a bachelor of arts in advertising, Munguia currently works as a social media account executive at IntegratePR in Houston.

“I love everything about my job!” Munguia says. “I know that sounds cheesy, but it’s absolutely true.”

According to Munguia, the link to her job was a Facebook status update by Allie Herzog Danzinger, president of IntegratePR and one of the Houston Business Journal‘s 40-under-40 in 2011.

IntegratePR logo

Munguia is a social media account executive at IntegratePR.

“A good friend of mine saw a post on Facebook from Allie Herzog saying she was looking for new talent, and she immediately passed it along to me,” Munguia says. “Allie and I met at a local coffee shop in Austin a few days later, and within the week I was awarded the position.”

Demonstrating her fine-tuned eye for the latest buzz in social media, Munguia says, was a key part of landing the job.

“I think my passion for social media really took Allie by surprise,” Munguia says. “I was determined to get a job doing exactly what I love, and was going to make sure that was obvious in my interview.”

As an account executive, Munguia has handled social media marketing for clients including Salt Lick BBQ and Imperial Sugar, perching her on top of the social media landscape. In fact, thanks to her efforts, IntegratePR was nominated for the 2012 Austin-American Statesman Social Media Awards.

Munguia says her experience at Texas State, which included an internship working on social media for the Office of University Marketing, served as a direct path to her career.

“Working at University Marketing for two years was truly the best experience I had while at Texas State, aside from the courses and great teachers I encountered,” Munguia says.

For soon-to-be graduates, she urges networking beyond regular circles — both online and offline.

“Network! I cannot stress that enough,” Munguia says. “Finding a job in a timely manner relies on who you know, or who your friends know. I didn’t realize how powerful of a tool networking can be until after I graduated.”

To connect with Britney Munguia or ask her for social media career advice, visit her website at www.britneymunguia.com, or follow @britney_leanne on Twitter.

Keep it friendly! Comment moderation will follow our Social Media Policy.

