Tag Archives: Scholarship

Alumni: Distinguished Young Bobcat Award

Recent alumni create award for incoming Bobcats

by Mindy Green

Distinguished Young Bobcat Award logoAndrew Henley and Maggie Worthington graduated from Texas State University only last year, but already they have created a scholarship for one incoming freshman who has made an impact on his/her high school campus and community.

Continue reading

Students: Stephanie Daul

Texas State junior awarded
prestigious scholarship

By Andrew Osegi

Stephanie Daul, a junior at Texas State University double-majoring in accounting and finance, was awarded the 2012 Jo Anne J. Trow National Undergraduate Scholarship this past summer. The highly prestigious scholarship is awarded to only 35 undergraduates across the United States.

Stephanie Daul, third from right, with friends during reception for Business Leadership Week

Daul received the $2,000 award through her membership in the Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) Honor Society, which she has belonged to since her freshman year. Daul qualified for her scholarship due to her 4.0 GPA, involvement on campus and recommendations from well-acquainted professors. Diann A. McCabe, director of academic development in the Honors College, says Daul “demonstrates the kind of academic depth and leadership potential that we
 hope to see in all Texas State students.” Continue reading

Texas State Updates: JAMP

Medical school scholarship program
selects seven Texas State students

By David King

Seven Texas State University-San Marcos students have been chosen for a statewide program that provides scholarships for them to finish college and then attend medical school.

This is the first time Texas State has had more than one student chosen for the Joint Admission Medical Program, which was launched in 2003 to help academically talented students from economically challenged backgrounds go to medical school.

“It’s a huge accomplishment,” said Marilyn Banta, who joined with fellow Biology Department faculty member Carolyn Pesthy to recruit students for JAMP. “We can take some of the credit for getting the word out, but the students have to get the grades and the students have to interview. They get the vast majority of the accolades that go along with it.”

The seven Texas State students selected for the next JAMP cohort are:

  • Leslie Campbell (Goodrich)
  • Casey Finch (Katy)
  • Brad Kapten (Flower Mound)
  • Olivia Lust (Austin)
  • Eric Madden (San Antonio)
  • Joshua Sands (Georgetown)
  • Derek Selders (Houston)

Two other students, Karla Martinez of Seguin and Valeria Onzures of San Elizario, were chosen as alternates. They will be admitted to the program if space becomes available. Continue reading